Push To Talk organises Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival

A hot summer’s day, a spectacular city triathlon, and a beautiful course

Push To Talk organised the Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival for the second time in collaboration with the Port of Antwerp, the City of Antwerp, and Sport Inc. Everyone was welcome to participate or come cheer on the participants. Some 1,700 triathletes braved the heat on the spectacular course of this extraordinary urban triathlon. Those who experienced it will be talking about it for a long time to come.

Assignment

The Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival wants to promote triathlons among the general public. The event shows that triathlon is not just for elite athletes. It is easily accessible and does not have to be competitive. The programme includes competitions for children, for inexperienced and amateur athletes, and for the Belgian and world elite athletes.

Client

The Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival is organised by the non-profit organisation Triathlon Antwerp 2020. The non-profit organisation unites the Flemish Triathlon & Duathlon League, Push To Talk, Sport Inc., and Media Mixer. Not only is Push To Talk one of the event’s organisers, but it also invests its own resources. The event is also supported and sponsored by the city of Antwerp and the Port of Antwerp, among others.

Challenge

This is only the second time that the Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival has taken place. There is also a World Cup competition on the agenda. Everything must be done strictly in accordance with the rules of the International Triathlon Union. In addition, a competition in the city centre is also a big challenge in terms of logistics. The comfort, safety, and water quality must be in perfect condition for all participants.

Solution

Fun

Sports should be enjoyable. Sports are about having fun and everyone can do that, for example by participating in the FUN Race. It’s short and fun. Anyone can join in. Talent, experience, or specialised material is not required. In a costume? On a city bike? Breaststroke? Nothing is mandatory. Everything is allowed. Children could participate in the Jespo Kids Triathlon.

Sports

Dyed-in-the-wool athletes could participate in a classic quarter-triathlon on an extraordinarily beautiful course. Diving and swimming among the docks. Running and cycling on the trendy Eilandje and in the Port of Antwerp. Winding through the MAS, over the cobblestones along the Scheldt, to the Havenhuis, and returning along the Kattendijk dock. A unique experience.

Elite sports

The ten best Belgian teams competed against each other in the T3 Series. The Port of Antwerp Triathlon is one of the five competitions in which they compete to become the best club in the country.

Spectacle

It was then time for the real spectacle. The Antwerp triathlon is the only World Cup competition in the Benelux and this was only the second time that a World Cup competition took place in Belgium. Seeing the strong participants, the short distance, the cobblestones, and the Belgian athletes up close and in person creates excitement and spectacle. The Belgians also demonstrated that they deserve their place in the world top. Erwin Vanderplancke had the best run time and finished in eleventh place. Valerie Barthelemy was the first woman to come out of the water and took a great seventh place.

The most beautiful and spectacular triathlon in the world

Ten thousand spectators admired the athletes up close along the course. In between, in the shadow of the MAS, the people of Antwerp enjoyed a drink and a bite to eat, the music, and the most beautiful city in the world.

A total of 1,700 courageous athletes braved the heat to compete for a medal or for the honour. At 21°C, swimming at the Bonaparte and Willem docks was ideal. But running and cycling in temperatures exceeding 30°C is something else. Yet, for the many Antwerp participants, it was the most beautiful and spectacular triathlon in the world. It’s a day they’ll be telling everyone about for a long time to come.

We are Push To Talk. You have a good story, we’re great storytellers: that’s a perfect match.

Impressions

Push To Talk organise le Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival

Une journée estivale torride, un triathlon urbain spectaculaire et un splendide parcours

Push To Talk a organisé la deuxième édition du Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival en collaboration avec Port of Antwerp, la ville d'Anvers et Sport Inc. L'événement était ouvert à tous, participants ou supporters. Quelque 1 700 triathlètes ont bravé la chaleur sur le spectaculaire parcours de ce triathlon urbain hors du commun. Une expérience dont on parlera encore longtemps.

Mission

Le Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival tend à promouvoir le triathlon auprès du grand public et montre que cette discipline n’est pas réservée aux sportifs de haut niveau. Sans caractère compétitif, il est accessible à tous. Au programme : des compétitions pour les enfants, pour les sportifs amateurs et inexpérimentés et pour le top belge et mondial.

Donneur d'ordre

Le Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival est organisé par l'ASBL Triathlon Antwerp 2020. Cette association regroupe la Vlaamse Triatlon & Duatlon Liga, Push To Talk, Sport Inc. et Media Mixer. Pour cet événement, Push To Talk avait non seulement un rôle d’organisateur, mais également d’investisseur en y apportant des fonds propres. L'événement bénéficiait par ailleurs du soutien et du sponsoring de la ville d'Anvers et du Port d'Anvers, parmi d'autres.

Défi

Ce n’était que la deuxième fois que le Port of Antwerp Triathlon Festival avait lieu. Une compétition de coupe du monde figurait également au programme. Tout devait se dérouler conformément aux règles de la Fédération internationale de triathlon. Ajoutons qu'une compétition en pleine ville représente un défi majeur sur le plan logistique. Le confort, la sécurité et la qualité de l'eau devaient être optimaux pour les participants.

Solution

Fun

Le sport doit être une fête. Il rime avec plaisir. Et c'est à la portée de tout le monde, par exemple en participant à la FUN Race, un parcours court et plaisant ouvert à tous. Talent, expérience ou matériel spécialisé ne sont pas nécessaires. En portant un déguisement ? Sur un vélo de ville ? En nageant la brasse ? Rien n'est obligatoire. Tout est possible. Les enfants pouvaient quant à eux prendre part au Jespo Kids Triatlon.

Sport

Les vrais sportifs pouvaient participer à un quart de triathlon classique, mais sur un parcours d'une beauté exceptionnelle. Plonger et nager le long des docks. Courir et faire du vélo à travers le quartier branché de l'Eilandje et le port d'Anvers. Passer près du MAS, sur les pavés le long de l'Escaut, jusqu'à la Maison du Port et revenir le long du Kattendijkdok. Une expérience inédite.

Sport de haut niveau

Les dix meilleures équipes belges se sont mesurées lors des T3 Series. Le Port of Antwerp Triathlon est l'une des cinq compétitions où elles s'affrontent pour le titre de meilleur club du pays.

Spectacle

Un vrai spectacle était au rendez-vous. Le triathlon d'Anvers est la seule compétition de coupe du monde du Benelux. Ce n’était que la deuxième fois qu’un tel événement avait lieu en Belgique. Le nombre de participants, la courte distance, les pavés et la possibilité de voir de près les athlètes belges en ont fait un spectacle de haut niveau. En outre, les Belges ont démontré qu’ils méritent leur place dans le top mondial. Erwin Vanderplancke a réalisé le meilleur temps en course et a terminé onzième. Valérie Barthelemy a été la première femme à sortir de l'eau et a décroché une belle septième place.

Le triathlon le plus beau et le plus spectaculaire au monde

Dix mille spectateurs étaient installés le long du parcours pour admirer les sportifs de près. Les Anversois ont en outre profité de la musique, d’un verre et d’une dégustation à l'ombre du MAS, tout en admirant la plus belle ville du monde.

Au total, 1 700 athlètes ont bravé la chaleur pour une médaille ou pour l'honneur. L'eau du Bonapartedok et du Willemdok affichait une température idéale (21 °C). Par contre, courir et faire du vélo au soleil, sous plus de 30 °C, c'est autre chose ! Pour les nombreux participants anversois, ce fut néanmoins le triathlon le plus beau et le plus spectaculaire au monde. Une journée dont ils parleront encore longtemps.

Nous sommes Push To Talk. Vous avez une belle histoire, nous pouvons la raconter comme personne.

Impressions