Umicore: Join the future

Open House Days brings the future to life

Push To Talk organised Open House Days for 6,000 visitors and 400 students. Umicore’s values were discussed through presentations, information panels, videos and live experiences. Hundreds of proud employees demonstrated how these values were being put into practice. They talked with great dedication and knowledge about their work at Umicore. ‘The Umicore Way’ really came to life at these events.

Assignment

Umicore wants its Open House Days to increase the public's knowledge of the company and to showcase its commitment to sustainability and its attractiveness as an employer. For its employees, Umicore wants to stimulate their pride, engagement and team spirit.

Client

Umicore is a top Belgian company in full growth. At its global research centre in Olen, Umicore studies the production and recycling of battery materials. At this site, Umicore manufactures chemical products containing cobalt, nickel and germanium. Umicore develops the base materials for solar panels in satellites, for glass fibres and for rechargeable batteries in electric cars. They give new life to valuable metals. In a nutshell, they work on solutions for generating energy in an efficient, sustainable and environmentally friendly manner.

Challenge

Umicore's neighbours and potential job applicants know too little about the company and its activities. The 6,000 visitors take a two to three-hour tour, a tour which must be fascinating, informative and safe from beginning to end.

Solution

The Umicore Way

Openness, innovation, respect, teamwork and dedication are vital to the success of Umicore. These core values truly come to life within the company. During the tour, hundreds of enthusiastic employees speak with great dedication and knowledge about their work and their company. Push To Talk presents their values through presentations, tours, information panels, videos and photos of real-life situations ...

Live experiences

For two hours, the visitors will have a ‘live’ experience the company culture, with experiments, interactive tests and demos … Employees are always standing by ready to help or provide explanations. And, as the cherry on the cake, the day ends with spectacular races featuring the Mahindra Formula E race car.

Safety and creativity go hand in hand

When it comes to safety, Push To Talk leaves nothing to chance. The entire event is monitored from one central command centre. The visitors are divided up into time slots and are each given a pair of safety glasses. They check in and out with wristbands. The entire tour route is cordoned off with crush barriers and tape. Employees and stewards supervise the activities on the ground.

A sustainable future

Every day, Umicore works on a sustainable future. This commitment is expressed not only in the development, production and recycling of sustainable materials but also in each of the company's processes. The social and environmental criteria used for the purchasing of base materials, the sustainable use of energy generated by wind turbines and cogeneration plants and the company's own water purification plant are also testaments to this commitment.

Jobs, jobs, jobs

Umicore is a company in full growth and is, therefore, continually searching for new talent. During the tour, information panels and enthusiastic employees show visitors the many jobs and benefits of a career at Umicore. At the HR stand at the end of the tour, interested potential applicants can ask questions or apply on the spot.

'The Umicore way' really comes to life

The 6000 visitors and 400 students are satisfied (99%) with the Open House Days. They see Umicore as an attractive employer (95%) and know that Umicore stands for sustainability (28%), pioneering research (16%) and innovation (15%).

The employees are proud and enthusiastic and became better acquainted with their colleagues. They gave the preparations, the briefing and the support at the event a score of 8/10.

We are Push To Talk We bring your culture to life.

Impressions

Umicore: Embrassez l'Avenir

Les journées portes ouvertes donnent vie à l'avenir

Push To Talk a organisé des journées portes ouvertes qui ont accueilli 6 000 visiteurs et 400 étudiants. Les valeurs d’Umicore étaient abordées au moyen de présentations, panneaux informatifs, vidéos et expériences live. Des centaines de collaborateurs ont expliqué avec fierté comment ces valeurs sont mises en pratique. Ils ont parlé de leur travail chez Umicore avec un dévouement exemplaire et en connaissance de cause. C'est ainsi que The Umicore Way of Life est né.

Mission

En organisant des journées portes ouvertes, Umicore visait à mieux faire connaître l'entreprise et à se présenter comme entreprise durable et employeur attrayant. Son objectif était également de stimuler la fierté, l'implication et l'esprit d'équipe des collaborateurs.

Donneur d'ordre

Umicore est une entreprise 100 % belge en pleine croissance. Dans son centre de recherche international basé à Olen, elle effectue des recherches sur la production et le recyclage des matériaux de batterie. Sur le site, elle fabrique des produits chimiques à base de cobalt, de nickel et de germanium. Umicore développe des matières premières pour les cellules solaires des satellites, les fibres de verre et les batteries rechargeables des voitures électriques, donnant ainsi une nouvelle vie aux métaux précieux. En résumé, l’entreprise s'attelle à l'élaboration de solutions pour générer de l’énergie de manière efficace, durable et écologique.

Défi

Les riverains et les candidats potentiels ne connaissent pas assez l'entreprise et ses activités. Un parcours de deux à trois heures, à la fois captivant, informatif et sûr du début à la fin, serait proposé aux 6 000 visiteurs.

Solution

The Umicore Way

Ouverture, innovation, respect, travail d’équipe et dévouement sont essentiels à la réussite d'Umicore. Ces valeurs clés sont bien vivantes au sein de l’entreprise. Pendant la visite guidée, des centaines de collaborateurs enthousiastes ont parlé de leur travail et de leur entreprise avec un dévouement exemplaire et en connaissance de cause. Push To Talk, de son côté, a mis ces valeurs en avant par des présentations, visites guidées, panneaux informatifs, vidéos, photos...

Expériences live

Les visiteurs pouvaient s'imprégner de cette culture « en live » pendant deux heures grâce à des expériences, des tests interactifs, des démos... Les collaborateurs se tenaient à leur disposition pour les aider ou leur fournir les explications nécessaires. La visite était suivie de courses spectaculaires de la voiture de Formule E Mahindra.

Sécurité et créativité vont de pair

En matière de sécurité, Push To Talk n'a rien laissé au hasard. L'événement était contrôlé en continu depuis une salle de commandement central. Les visiteurs étaient répartis en groupes et recevaient des lunettes de sécurité ainsi qu'un bracelet pour le check-in et le check-out. Tout le parcours était balisé avec des barrières Nadar et des cordons. Des collaborateurs et des stewards veillaient au bon déroulement de la visite.

Un avenir durable

Umicore s'attelle chaque jour à un avenir durable, non seulement au niveau du développement, de la production et du recyclage de matériaux durables, mais aussi dans l'ensemble de ses processus. L'entreprise prend également en compte des critères sociaux et environnementaux lors de l'achat de matières premières, utilise des énergies durables via des turbines éoliennes et la cogénération et a sa propre installation d'épuration des eaux.

Jobs, jobs, jobs

Umicore est une entreprise en pleine croissance, qui est en permanence à la recherche de talents. Pendant la visite guidée, des panneaux informatifs et des collaborateurs enthousiastes présentaient les nombreux jobs et les atouts d'une carrière chez Umicore. À la fin de la visite, les personnes intéressées pouvaient s'adresser au stand RH pour demander des informations ou poser directement leur candidature.

The Umicore way est

Les 6 000 visiteurs et 400 étudiants sont satisfaits (99 %) des journées portes ouvertes. Ils considèrent Umicore comme un employeur attrayant (95 %) et savent que cette entreprise se concentre sur la durabilité (28 %), des recherches de pointe (16 %) et l'innovation (15 %).

Les collaborateurs sont fiers et enthousiastes et ont appris à mieux se connaître. Ils attribuent un score de 8 sur 10 pour la phase préparatoire, le briefing et l'assistance lors de l'événement.

Nous sommes Push To Talk Nous donnons vie à votre culture.

Impressions